Latest News

Iconic holes re-open at Nefyn

SOME of the most iconic golf holes in the UK have re-opened after they were damaged by storms almost 18 months ago.

The loop of eight holes at Nefyn and District, known as The Point, were officially re-opened by Welsh deputy minister for culture, sport and tourism Ken Skates AM earlier this month and visitors now have the added bonus of an extra hole which now gives the popular course three loops of nine.

The storms of late 2013 wrecked approximately 50% of The Point’s fairways and greens and it has taken until now to get them back to the high standard required.

Club secretary Simon Dennis said: “When the club was originally founded more than 100 years ago it was based around the holes on The Point so it’s like going back to our roots once again. People want to play The Point holes so it’s great to have them back in use.”

Nefyn Golf Club’s chairman of marketing Duncan Smith added: “It was terrible to lose the spectacular holes to the elements but the silver lining has been that we’ve now added a stunning par three to the existing eight.

“The new hole is a cracking addition. It’s 160 yards across the bay on the left side of the peninsula to a two-tier elevated green and can require anything from a seven iron to a driver depending on the direction of the wind.

“It’s a stunning hole because both the tee and the green are right on the edge of the cliff.”

Skates, who represents Clwyd South is a 13 handicapper who plays his golf at Mold. It was his first trip to the Gwynedd club. He cut a ribbon and hit the opening shot to officially mark the re-opening. He was then joined for nine holes by the lady captain Enid Bloxham, captain Terry Evans and president Stephen Murray.

The club now plans various events throughout the summer season to showcase The Point holes. These include a Corporate Day on May 21 and a Club Captains’ Invitational Day on June 18.

Pictured at Nefyn (from left) are: lady president Jacqui Pittaway, captain Terry Evans, Ken Skates, lady captain Enid Bloxham and president Stephen Murray.