Latest News

Patricia shows Girl Power at Royal Liverpool

PATRICIA Davies, the lone woman in the field, has become the only golfer in the 58-year-history of the Association of Golf Writers Championship to win the trophy for the fourth time.

She tamed brutal 40mph winds better than any of the men at Royal Liverpool on a course where Rory McIlroy, Tiger Woods, Peter Thomson, Bobby Jones junior, and Walter Hagen are among the 12 winners of The Open Championship.

Davies’ wins now span three decades. She first lifted the Fred Pignon trophy in 1991, successfully defended her title a year later and triumphed on a third occasion in 2002.

Among the vanquished males were Iain Carter, the BBC golf correspondent, the Daily Mail’s Derek Lawrenson, a Wallasey member widely acknowledged as the No 1 writer on the sport, and Gary Butler, the founder and managing director of ETIQUS watches.

Butler supports the golf writers tournaments which count towards the “Race to Hoylake” and Rob Perkins, pictured here with Davies, is the AGW – 2018 ETIQUS Golfer of the Year.

From Tytherington, Cheshire, Butler is a neighbour of the England Golf 2018 Coach of the Year, Mottram Hall’s Matthew Turnock.

Royal Liverpool will host the Walker Cup for the second time in September, 2019, during their 150th anniversary year.

In 1983, Bing Crosby’s son, Nathaniel, was a member of the victorious American team at Hoylake.

Crosby’s victory in the 1981 US Amateur earned him his place in the Walker Cup and he will return to Hoylake next year as the captain of the American team.