Latest News

Presentation evening proves a belter!

CONGLETON Golf Club held its annual presentation evening to a packed clubhouse and opened with a minute’s silence in respect of the tragedies that occurred in Paris the night before.

Club members have enjoyed a remarkable year with high level of golf across all sections of the club as well as competitions played further afield. On the night more than 200 prizes were awarded and the prize table was glittering with silver and crystal glass trophies.  This year the men’s prizes included belts with personally engraved buckles, supplied by Congleton based company Devanet.

Some of the highlights for the evening included announcing the club Golfer of the Year awards – for the men’s section this was Nick Worrall, the ladies’ winner was Michelle Kirby and the junior winner was Jack Machin.  Another golfer who had a remarkable year was Melvin Dutton who reached three of the club knockout final competitions and he was victorious in two of them.

Alex Cliffe won a new trophy this year – the Jeff Woolridge Memorial Salver, which was kindly donated by his daughter Amanda and the club chairman Dave Shufflebotham. This trophy will be played for every year at the June medal. Jeff had been a long time and well respected member of the club as well as being a past captain and junior organiser.

Thanks were given to the competition secretaries Jonathan Forster, Sue Hyland and Ken Hyland for organising all the events throughout the year and to club pro Mike Green for his very active support.

The club is proud of all its members achievements and these include Tom Johnson on winning the Chronicle Cup, George Mitchell on becoming the Cheshire Junior Champion, the team for winning the local Ryder Cup and its success in the summer league.

At the end of the evening Chris Wilson (captain), Sandra Smedley (lady captain), Tom Marsh (junior captain) and Guy Thomas (senior captain) all thanked everyone for supporting the club and making it a great success.  They also announced that the 2016 captains-elect would be Mike Dines and Deborah Lees.

Pictured (from left) are: president Lucy Suchland, lady captain Sandra Smedley, Lady Golfer of the Year Michelle Kirby, captain Chris Wilson, Men’s Golfer of the Year Nick Worrell, junior captain Tom Marsh and Junior Golfer of the Year Jack Machin.